Pre Award and faculty contacts

Pre Award and faculty contacts

Pre Award Contacts

Objectives of the Pre Award Team

The main objectives of the Pre Award Team are to:

  • Help researchers to identify appropriate funding opportunities and collaborative partners
  • Assist in the development of high-quality, competitive research proposals
  • Manage submission processes on behalf of Macquarie University

Manager, Pre Award

 

Dr Erin Semon

erin.semon@thelocatorlink.com
T: 02 9850 8609

Research Development Managers

Objective: Develop high-quality, competitive external grant applications

  • Build, track and articulate research performance
  • Provide resources, programs and initiatives aimed at increasing researcher effectiveness in external research funding endeavours
  • Organise and deliver researcher development workshops
  • ARC and NHMRC focus

Dr Ross Hill

Research manager with experience as a researcher and in grant assessment

Assessor for ARC DP, Future Fellowship and DECRA schemes

Recipient of postdoctoral research fellowships, ARC and other grants

Available to assist researchers across all disciplines

ross.hill@thelocatorlink.com
T: 02 9850 4737

Ms Courtney Bendall

Administrator with experience in grant assessment, submission and management

Successful funding experience through NHMRC, NIH, WHO and pharma

Primarily assisting researchers in the medical, health and human sciences

courtney.bendall@thelocatorlink.com
T: 02 9850 4745

Research Partnerships Managers

Objective: Identify, develop and manage relationships with private sector, government and other external organisations to boost research funding

  • Identify and facilitate research funding opportunities to provide solutions to challenges faced by partners
  • Assist the University to achieve its strategic objectives in relation to Category 2 and 3 research income
  • Assist researchers to develop new partnerships, including through Enterprise Partnership Funding Scheme
  • Provide guidance, pitch development and relationship building advice

Daniel Johnston Photo

Faculty of Arts

Daniel Johnston
Research Partnerships Manager

Future shaping research priorities: Modes of Communication;
Societal Transformation; Ethics, Governance  & Justice

daniel.johnston@thelocatorlink.com
T: +61 (2) 9850 7577

 

Macquarie Business School

Helena Hurley
Research Partnerships Manager

Future shaping research priorities: Applied Finance; Corporate Sustainability &
Environmental Finance; Risk Analytics; Workforce Futures; Health Economics

E: helena.hurley@thelocatorlink.com
T: +61 (2) 9850 1309

 Kevin Cryan Photo

Faculty of Medicine, Health and Human Sciences

Kevin Cryan
Research Partnerships Manager

Future shaping research priorities:  Aging; Cancer;  Cardiovascular Disease;
Clinical Sciences; Deafness & Hearing Sciences; Elite Performance & Expertise;
Emotional Health; Health Services & Systems; Language Sciences; Multilingualism 
& Applied Linguistics: Neurosciences; Reading


E: Kevin.Cryan@thelocatorlink.com
M: +61 (0)418 115 774

 Matthew Bevin Photo 

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Matthew Bevin
Research Partnerships Manager

Future shaping research priorities:
Secure Planet; Innovative Technologies

E: Matthew.Bevin@thelocatorlink.com
T: +61 (2) 9850 4475

Research Proposals Team

Objective: Provide compliance advice and submit proposals on behalf of MQ researchers

  • Provide advice and support to researchers applying for funding
  • Ensure compliance with funding rules
  • Responsible for submitting proposals on behalf of the University to funding bodies
  • Administer and run Macquarie University internal research funding schemes

Proposals Team Leader

  Fiona Collison

T: 02 9850 4462
research.preaward@thelocatorlink.com

Research Proposals Officers

 Gillian Smith

Monday and Tuesday
T: 02 9850 4877
research.preaward@thelocatorlink.com
 

Bec Syler

Wednesday, Thursday and Friday
T: 02 9850 4193
research.preaward@thelocatorlink.com

 Donna Burgess

T: 02 9850 4877
research.preaward@thelocatorlink.com

Faculty Contacts

Faculty of Arts

Deputy Dean, Research and InnovationProf Louise D'Arcens
Email: louise.darcens@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 8883
Faculty Research ManagerJan Zwar
Email: jan.zwar@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 4496
General Faculty Research Office EmailArtsRO@thelocatorlink.com
Faculty Executive DirectorNeil Durrant
Email: neil.durrant@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 7687

Faculty of Medicine, Health and Human Sciences

Deputy Dean, Research and InnovationProf Roger Chung
Email: roger.chung@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 2724
Faculty Research ManagerDr Kyle Ratinac
Email: kyle.ratinac@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 2788
General Faculty Research Office Emailfmhhs.researchsupport@thelocatorlink.com
Faculty Executive DirectorDr Welly Firmanto
Email: welly.firmanto@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 3507

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Deputy Dean, Research and InnovationProf David Coutts
Email: david.coutts@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 8970
Faculty Research ManagerIrina Zakoshanski
Email: irina.zakoshanski@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 8912
General Faculty Research Office Emailsci.research@thelocatorlink.com
Faculty Executive DirectorKatrina Sealey
Email: katrina.sealey@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9372 4877

Macquarie Business School

Deputy Dean, Research and InnovationProf Leonie Tickle
Email: leonie.tickle@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 8567
Faculty Research ManagerTBA
Faculty Research Funding CoordinatorDr Irene Chen
Email: i.chen@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 4826
General Faculty Research Office Emailmqbs-ro@thelocatorlink.com
Faculty Executive DirectorDavid Sams
Email: david.sams@thelocatorlink.com
Phone: 02 9850 4730

Content owner: Research Pre-award Last updated: 06 Apr 2022 2:04pm

Back to the top of this page